Chiefs stop Rollers, move into Maize Cup final

Chiefs stop Rollers, move into Maize Cup final
Gustavo Paez of Kaizer Chiefs celebrates a goal with teammatees during the 2017 Maize Cup match between Kaizer Chiefs and Township Rollers on the 15 July 2017 at James Motlatsi Stadium, Orkney © Sydney Mahlangu /BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Saturday Jul 15, 2017. 14:08

Kaizer Chiefs proved too strong for Botswana’s Township Rollers, as they claimed a 2-0 win in the teams’ Maize Cup semifinal on Saturday at James Motlatsi Stadium.

A brace from Gustavo Paez saw the Amakhosi to a victory which puts them into the Maize Cup final against Free State Stars, with kick-off at the same venue set for 4pm CAT today.

Chiefs handed starts to new signings Teenage Hadebe and Bhongolethu Jayiya, while the Rollers XI featured notable Botswana national team players like Maano Ditshupo and the highly-regarded Segolame Boy, as well as former Bloemfontein Celtic star Joel Mogorosi was on the bench.

The Amakhosi settled the quicker of the two teams and soon began creating half chances. On 18 minutes they claimed the lead, with Tsepo Masilela and Bernard Parker combining down the left of attack to tee up Gustavo Paez, who easily finished off from close range to make it 1-0.

Rollers struggled to establish themselves in the game, with their passing in the final third of the field falling apart as soon as they were put under pressure by Chiefs’ defence.

The Botswana visitors remained a goal down through the rest of the first half and the first quarter hour of the second, prompting them to make a double change on the hour mark which saw the introduction of Mogorosi and Tshepo Mothlabankwe.

Yet there was no way back for Rollers, especially when they went 2-0 down with just under 10 minutes to play: Tsepo Masilela was tripped in the box by Obuile Ncenga, leading to a penalty which was coolly converted by Paez to end the game as a contest.

Kaizer Chiefs (1) 2 (Paez 18’ 82’ pen)
Township Rollers 0

Chiefs: Khune, Mphahlele, Hadebe, Mathoho, Masilela (Khumalo 89’), Katsande, Maluleka, Jayiya (Malope 72’), Ektstein, Parker (Chirambadare 85’), Paez

Rollers: Kgosipula, Motsholetsi, Ncenga, van der Westhuizen, Olerile, Ditshupo, Mohutsiwa, Boy, Lechaena (Mogorosi 60’), Mandawa (Mothlabankwe 61’), Moalosi